Negative Space

Hans Haacke: The 9-11 Poster Project
Hans Haacke: The 9-11 Poster Project
Hans Haacke: The 9-11 Poster Project
Hans Haacke: The 9-11 Poster Project

Hans Haacke’s Poster Project appeared on scaffolding’s and walls throughout New York City from March 11-25, 2002. Personally, I think Hans Haacke’s Posters effectively represent all the emotions that come along with remembering Sept. 11th better than any other poster or “We Will Never Forget” slogan. He uses the negative space as a symbol of the missing tower – that is what I saw when I after I looked a second time. When you first look, you also notice what is behind his poster. And that is what I feel is effective in his design. Everyone continues to live their lives, carrying out there day-to-day activities, however the void of the towers can never be filled.

I don’t even remember ever seeing or actually noticing these Posters throughout the city because I was oblivious to detailed and everything other than Yugi-oh cards and video games. Ha ha, I was about twelve or thirteen at the time.

R.I.P Mario, 8yrs..

Leave a Reply

