SAMO

800px-basquiatimitatorbathroomwall

These past two days, Monday and Tuesday, have been a complete waste, which may be contributing to my melancholy disposition. It’s not major; I’m just feeling unproductive and seeing no direction. SAMO. Everyday, same shit. I’m taking class I have no interest in and it’s showing. I can vaguely describe what my grades might be looking like – if I’m doing well in those classes, I’ll be surprised because it doesn’t feel right. I’ve been using “SAMO,” as one of the tags for the site and you might not know what it means. Well, it means “same ol’.” SAMO was tagged on slum buildings throughout lower Manhattan. I’m using the tag, SAMO, as a generic brand for all articles.

Tagging of SAMO after the jump.

21553_samo

In 1977, when he was 17, Basquiat and his friend Al Diaz started spray-painting graffiti art on slum buildings in lower Manhattan, adding the infamous signature of “SAMO” or “SAMO shit” (i.e., “same ol’ shit”). The graphics were pithy messages such as “Plush safe he think; SAMO” and “SAMO is an escape clause”. In December 1978, the Village Voice published an article about the writings.[1] The SAMO project ended with the epitaph SAMO IS DEAD written on the walls of SoHo buildings.

SAMO as a neo art form.

SAMO as an end to to mindwash religion, nowhere politics and bogus philosophy.

SAMO as an escape clause.

SAMO as an end to playing art.

SAMO as an end to bogus pseudo intellectual. My mouth, therefore an error. Plush safe.. he think.

SAMO as an alternative 2 playing art with the ‘radical chic’ sect on Daddy’s $ funds.

One thought on “SAMO

Leave a Reply

